Call Me Gertrude

This weekend, we went out not to the shore but to a couple of the Main Line thrift and consignment type stores. Among my finds (besides the marvelous bar with a surface of inlay and mirrors on the interior of its doors) was one of those tones of spring, silk-and-wool Tattersall blazers. For $15, I didn’t have to worry too much about waking up one morning years hence and deciding that a coral plaid blazer was a bit much.

Threw it on today with the usual skirt, shirt, pearls, air cast …. My aunt pronounced it a well-coordinated outfit, down to my least favorite accessory, which I long to jettison.

20130506-190614.jpg

When I stuck my hands in my pockets, I found one of them had something in it: a bridge score card, for Trudy and Trish. So my new blazer comes with a new identity: call me Gertrude.

Meanwhile, even on this damp day, peonies bloomed.

20130506-191100.jpg

Lilies of the valley, too. In the library, I saw lantern slides, but that’s another post.

20130506-191258.jpg

This entry was published on May 6, 2013 at 11:14 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

