Like This

Hello, summer.  Goodbye, summer.

How is it that I’m suddenly getting ready for start of term?  If you’d asked, I’d have told you the days were, at last, like this.

Image

That is, sunny, summery, with flowers full throttle and the birds a blur.  The hummingbirds have learned I’m a reliable host, that my deck  features fuschia, hibiscus, and other blooming things they might enjoy.  They’re regular visitors.

I’ve not been so reliable with the camera lately, so despite having unceremoniously ended a phone conversation one bright day in order to grab the appropriate device, I don’t have pictures of a hummingbird sitting on these flowers, mere yards away.

Image

Instead, this was the best I could do.

Image

If you puzzle through the greenery, to the left of the lantana, you’ll see my visitor.  No matter how often I hear the whir of its wings, I’ve seldom been able grab a camera in time.  Instead, often all I get is a bird taking wing.  Like this.

Image

Come to think of it, I’ve not gotten around reading to Christopher Bentley’s A Summer of Hummingbirds yet either.  Only now summer’s gone — just like that.

This entry was published on August 22, 2013 at 1:45 pm. It’s filed under fauna, flora and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

