A Backward Glance: The High Line

Image

 

Since the Sunday morning when I saw a segment of this Jerome Robbins dance performed on the High Line, I’ve been as obsessed with the park in the sky as someone who lives in the Midwest can be.  Last month, a conference in Manhattan finally, finally, finally allowed me a chance to see the High Line, to walk along its paths, to stare out at the city amid its plantings, late one rather brisk afternoon.  The images have been lingering on my camera, unprocessed and unedited, only as every day goes by, a new post on the High Line blog indicates my pictures are rapidly going out of season:  spring cut-back, spring hours, snow drops, striped squill ….

Before any more time goes by, a few of my photos.  I wish they were better, but at least and at last I was there.

From the birches …

Image

and the paths …

Image

and views of the river …

Image

 

Image

Entering this covered space is like walking into a cathedral.  Only after returning home did I discover it is an art installation with a name, The River That Flows Both Ways.  It creates a quiet stillness, lovely and peaceful:

Image

There were a couple of photos in particular that I wish had turned out better, but what with lighting, freezing fingers, and all that, they’re beyond imperfect.  Still, seeing the car park sign from the park in the sky amused me:

Image

And seeing the Statue of Liberty — here, a barely green blur so far in the distance — took my breath away; this is, what hadn’t already been drained by the dropping temperatures:

Image

Only one sparrow visited me, and he wasn’t particularly social.  Still, he was there:

Image

This entry was published on April 2, 2014 at 4:01 am. It’s filed under fauna, flora, road trip and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

