button

Back to the Future

IMG_5522.JPG

It was a grumpy, gray day, and even the diminutive tete-a-tete daffodils weren’t sufficient consolation. Especially when I had to leave for the office.

I arrived at the library just as my students were leaving a Women’s History Month button making workshop. They were bedecked with the fruits of their labors, and they loved the vintage buttons someone had found on a shelf and decided to share. For me, their enthusiasm was the best part of walk to my office, an unexpected moment of good cheer.

IMG_5530.JPG

IMG_5529.JPG

IMG_5531.JPG

IMG_5533.JPG

I loved the retro mention of the Oval Office as a goal for women politicians, though it’s hard to say whose campaign distributed that button. Ferraro? Schroeder? And I loved that they let me snap quick pictures of their selections, and that they had an extra to offer to me:

IMG_5545.JPG

This entry was published on March 25, 2015 at 5:20 am. It’s filed under libraries and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

