Toby in dappled sun

My Darling Kitten, or Tales of Tobias 


My Darling Kitten has long been on my shelf.  I don’t teach it in my children’s lit classes, but it’s supremely sweet — a confection of a picture book featuring a young kitten who plays alarm clock to his young owner in order to cuddle and play.  Even though I’d not taken it off the shelf in years, Toby sent me searching for this book again.

Toby is mischievous, yet absolutely darling.


When he’s not searching for the toys he’s lost under the couch, or watching birds and cars go by, he’s often curled up next to me.


 His inclination to be gently social is amusing.  I’ve found him playing with the men doing our home repair, complete with holding his paw out to be shaken.  They don’t use the word, but it’s plain they agree:  he’s darling.

While he sometimes pauses mid-antics, it’s almost always easier to take pictures when he’s sleeping.


Almost.


This entry was published on August 20, 2015 at 3:51 pm. It’s filed under cats, picture books, what I'm reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

